top of page

Diabetes In College

As someone diagnosed with Diabetes as a child I've always had the support of my family. Yes, I've been taught to be independent, but still living away from home two hours away alone changes the whole situation.

Week 1: BG in range

Week 2: BG starts to get crazy - insulin doesn't work anymore

Week 3: BG is all over the place

There have been days where my sugar has been dropped low at night and I haven't been able to wake up. Early morning yesterday my sugar dropped all the way to 30. I was not waking up to my Dexcom (CGM) alarm and neither was I when my mom kept on calling me. At that moment my mom almost called my Resident Advisor on my floor, but coincidently at that moment I had a calf cramp and I woke up. I was confused what the beeping on my phone was and I finally picked up the phone - my mother was panicking. I let her know I was awake, but I still was baffled at what was going on. After a couple minutes I realized that my sugar was low and that I was going to have to skip my 8 A.M. class. On days like these I'm thankful for all the support I've gained at my college. I understand that not everyone may like me or even understand what diabetes really is. Does anyone actually understand this disease unless they've experienced with it firsthand? It's my fourth week in college, but I've attained friends who stick with me and try to understand what I'm going through and I'm thankful for that. Controlling my sugars and staying focused for studying for tests can be a bit of a challenge but I'm making it step by step. I had my first two tests this week and I can confidently say that I achieved great scores! It won't be a breeze, but I can do it. I hope to get into nursing school after two years and change patients lives, the same way those nurses changed mine. Keep hope and slay diabetes and life.

Love,

Gunjan


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page