top of page

Satisfying Carrot Cake

As a Type 1 Diabetic I try my best to keep my diet as strict and nutritious as possible, although at times I have cravings for sweets. Over the years, I've tried dozens of cake recipes, but none cooperate as well as this does with my blood glucose :)

For the cake part of the carrot cake you'll need:

- 2 cups self-rising flour (I used Pillsbury self-rising flour)

- 1.5 cups of powdered sugar

- 1 tsp baking soda

- 1 tsp cinnamon

- 3 cups grated carrots

- 1 cup vegetable oil

- 4 eggs

Steps for the cake:

1. Stir the cinnamon, sugar, baking soda together and add carrots, oil and eggs.

2. Beat with electrical hand mixer until well mixed (approx. 2-3 minutes).

3. Pour the cake mix into a sprayed metal dish and bake at 325 degrees for 55 minutes.

Let the cake cool completely before topping it.

For the whipped cream:

- half stick unsweetened butter

- 1/3 box of 8oz cream cheese spread

- 8oz cool whip

- 1 tsp vanilla

- 1/3 cup of heavy cream

To add different colored designs on the cake I added cake dye to the whipped cream.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page